Electricity pricing from 1/7/23

Warren_Hanley
Switched-on
26 Replies 49547 Views

Hi AGL,

I have just received the new electricity rates that take effect from July 1 and I am absolutely alarmed at the increase!  This, in my opinion is nothing short of “highway robbery”.  I would like someone to contact me with regard to negotiating a better rate.

I look forward to your response.

Thanks,

Warren Hanley

102 REPLIES 102
beast
Switched-on
1 Reply 4073 Views

I have just received a massive increase in my electricity bill from AGL. 15c to 30c. 

This is totally inexcusable. I expect an exact, detailed analysis of why this was necessary. I am an electrical engineer who understands that AGL closes coal to push up the wholesale price so they can make more money, at our expense. 
We are told renewables are more reliable and cheaper than coal. You close Liddell, the rates go up and my off peak ( more than half my bill) doubles. The site charge is also up.
You must hang your heads in shame. You are wrecking our Country, businesses will need to shut.

I will write to every newspaper and politician I know
Adam2089
Switched-on
1 Reply 4061 Views

My letter from agl re the increase in prices for electricity has my rate going from 21.6c per kw to 38.2c.

this is a price rise of nearly 90%!

I don’t understand if the average price rises are 15-20% how I can be receiving such a ridiculously high increase 

jhaas
Transformer
0 Replies 4064 Views

FYI, I've only just learned that the 15c solar feed-in tariff  that I recently stumbled across is a limited time offer:

"Up to 15c/kWh solar FiT now available, offer ends 30th of June".
(15c for first 14kWh per day, then 5c)

My email notice of rates increases still shows 15c feed-in after 01 July (but always "variable and subject to change")

jhaas
Transformer
1 Reply 4077 Views

I thought perhaps AGL had completely killed the idea of Time Of Use plans (given my post above).