Sunverge vs Tesla in the AGL VPP

Richard
Stellar
1 Reply 9393 Views

Updated to 30 April 2019

SUMMARY

As a retired electrical engineer, I had always assumed that adding solar battery storage would result in an increase in what we save, over and above what we saved by having solar panels only, so I was surprised to find that this didn’t happen with the AGL Virtual Power Plant (VPP) Sunverge system, no matter which way the data was examined.

I have laid out various ways of demonstrating the poor design and inefficiencies of the Sunverge battery hardware and management algorithms.  Each analysis shows that the Sunverge system cost us money, instead of saving us money, and the analyses below are just different ways of looking at the same problem.  The Tesla system, on the other hand, may save us the sort of money that AGL promised in their initial offering.  I have used “may” because we have 1.42 years of Sunverge data, but only 0.50 years of Tesla data, the latter being data from the period of highest solar output from November to April.  It still remains to be seen how Tesla performs over a full year of four seasons.

In SUNVERGE DECEMBER 2017 ANALYSIS, I graphically demonstrate that the Sunverge system imported a great deal more daily grid energy for the month of December 2017 than appeared to be necessary.

In SUNVERGE VS TESLA HOUSE VACANT NIGHT-TIME ENERGY FLOW ANALYSIS, I graphically demonstrate the stark differences between the Sunverge and Tesla systems on an half hourly basis between the hours of 6:30 pm and 7:00 am, and when the house was vacant and running only a refrigerator.

In SUNVERGE VS TESLA NIGHT-TIME GRID IMPORT AND EXPORT ANALYSIS, I graphically show the differences over the current lifetime of both battery systems with regard to the grid energy imported and exported between the hours of 2:00 am and 7:00 am.