Energy Management

Looking for tips or advice on energy efficiency around the home? See what others are doing or share your experience!

Looking for tips or advice on energy efficiency around the home? See what others are doing or share your experience!

Demand rates

Switched-on

Hello,

I'm a newbie to this forum.

I dont really understand the AGL's "General Usage Demand Opt-In" rates.  The demand charge is in units of c/kW/day for usage between the hours of 1500-2100.  That doesnt appear to be a unit of enrgy consumption, do they mean c/kWDay or c/kWHr ?   Is it an additional charge on top of the normal c/kWHr rate?  Can anyone give me a simple worked example of how this rate works ? 

thanks  Jan

21 REPLIES 21

Conductor

So, @jaydeny is this the same as the T14 tariff which is described on the canstarblue website https://www.canstarblue.com.au/electricity/understanding-queensland-electricity-tariffs/ ? They say "This is a ‘Demand tariff’, which is new type of tariff only available to customers with smart meters. Essentially, customers receive lower supply and usage charges, however a ‘demand charge’ is incurred in the peak summer months. A demand charge is a daily charge that reflects a customer’s peak time usage in a 30-minute period between 4pm and 8pm. For example, if you’re charged a 20c/kWh demand tariff, and you use a maximum of 3kWh of electricity in a 30 minute period, you will be charged 60c per day. This charge resets every month."