Solar Export Restrictions

mainey01
Semiconductor
1 Reply 37745 Views

Hi 

I am a resident of Dondingalong NSW 2440 (near Kempsey) and am about to install a residential solar system. You offer attractive feed in rates with some conditions and I intend to move our account to AGL at the time of installation. I would like to get some clarity around the eligibility for the 21c FIT. 

1) When you say a system is 10kW in size, do you mean 10 kW inverter or 10kW of panels? Clearly the latter does not generate 10kW (more like 7.5kW).

2) Depending on the answer to Q1, if I install a system that is over the limit, what FIT am I eligible for?

3) Are there limits on the amount that a residential system can feed back to the grid both over and under 10kW?

32 REPLIES 32
NeilC
Powerhouse
1 Reply 5273 Views

Finnegan,

I no longer support the AGL Community pages for statements like yours that are not factual.

In SA you can export what is written on your SEG approval.

New single phase installations are now limited to 5kW output but you can generate more and limit your export to 5kw Max.

My SEG approval also has the the maximum capacity of my solar panels (6.6kW) stated on it and as such I cannot add any more to this system without re-applying for a new SEG approval from SA Power Networks.

Three phase users can export 30kw and have a maximum of 40kW of panels in the installation.

However:-

As from  29 May 2019 (NEW  SA INSTALLATIONS) can only export a maximum of 5kW per phase. So if your inverter or inverters are larger than this, you’ll need to export limit.

The above info is only applicable in SA.

You should note (in SA,VIC, ACT, QLD and TAS) that under new AEMO rules that in some circumstances your electricity supplier may isolate your Solar System to protect the Grid.

My understanding is that this does not mean that your power will be switched off, but your supplier will allow the voltage on the line to exceed 258 Volts which will cause your inverter to shut down.