Solar Export Restrictions

mainey01
Semiconductor
1 Reply 37758 Views

Hi 

I am a resident of Dondingalong NSW 2440 (near Kempsey) and am about to install a residential solar system. You offer attractive feed in rates with some conditions and I intend to move our account to AGL at the time of installation. I would like to get some clarity around the eligibility for the 21c FIT. 

1) When you say a system is 10kW in size, do you mean 10 kW inverter or 10kW of panels? Clearly the latter does not generate 10kW (more like 7.5kW).

2) Depending on the answer to Q1, if I install a system that is over the limit, what FIT am I eligible for?

3) Are there limits on the amount that a residential system can feed back to the grid both over and under 10kW?

32 REPLIES 32
Adrian2021
Conductor
1 Reply 7507 Views

Hi Ellen 1

Thanks, you are saying that the solar system should be less than 10kw, however I spoke to an AGL rep yesterday and they confirmed that its not the solar system but the inverter that needs to be less than 10kw. So if I have a 13.2 kw solar system and a 10kw inverter I should be eligible for the 21 cents tariff.

Could you please confirm this.

Thanks

Ellen1
AGL Moderator
1 Reply 7505 Views

Hi Adrian2020, 

Could you please send me a private message so I can chase that up as that information is incorrect. We have had this confirmed by the products team multiple times, it is certainly based on Panel size not inverter size. 

Im really sorry you have been given the wrong information. 

Thank you.

Ellen

NeilC
Powerhouse
1 Reply 7499 Views

@Ellen1, @Adrian2021 , @-Nam- 

I have asked previously to be pointed to an actual FACTUAL AGL document that states there is a 10KW limit.

What you are stating is hearsay and as an employee you should quote actual fact.