Solar Export Restrictions

mainey01
Semiconductor
1 Reply 37746 Views

Hi 

I am a resident of Dondingalong NSW 2440 (near Kempsey) and am about to install a residential solar system. You offer attractive feed in rates with some conditions and I intend to move our account to AGL at the time of installation. I would like to get some clarity around the eligibility for the 21c FIT. 

1) When you say a system is 10kW in size, do you mean 10 kW inverter or 10kW of panels? Clearly the latter does not generate 10kW (more like 7.5kW).

2) Depending on the answer to Q1, if I install a system that is over the limit, what FIT am I eligible for?

3) Are there limits on the amount that a residential system can feed back to the grid both over and under 10kW?

32 REPLIES 32
-Nam-
AGL Moderator
3 Replies 28816 Views

Hi mainey01! 

Welcome to AGL Community! 

1.) The size limit applies to the panels themselves, not the export size inclusive of a limiter. 

2.) AGL's standard solar feed in tariff is 10.2 c/kWh in NSW.

3.) There isn't a limit on your system which will cap you from receiving a solar feed in tariff. 

Kind regards, 

-Nam-

mainey01
Semiconductor
1 Reply 28809 Views

Thanks Nam

The AGL comparison page says I am eligible for a Solar Savers plan, which offers no discount on the base power rate but offers "Our highest solar feed-in-tariff of 21c/kWh". Does this apply to a system of any size?

Is the 10.2c FIT you mentioned available with any plan (including Essential Saver and Essential Plus)?

If I am off track, can you please tell me:

1) If I install a system with more than 10kW of panels, what is the best power plan and Feed in Tariff AGL can offer?

2) If I install a system with less than 10kW of panels, what is the best power plan and Feed in Tariff AGL can offer?

It is frustrating that this simple information is so hard to uncover.

Thanks

-Nam-
AGL Moderator
1 Reply 28794 Views

Hi mainey01!